The Yoga Blues

Image result for yoga

I put my mat down on the hard floor,

set myself up to strengthen my core

 

Hands together, the room falls silent

on the instructress’ words we’re reliant

 

We roll our heads and begin to stretch,

body movements scribble and sketch

 

Muscles are stretched and toes plant a tree,

I can feel a wobble overwhelming me

 

A down facing dog just doesn’t heel,

all my legs long for is simply to kneel

 

‘Ease into a stretch,’ an oxymoron,

nothing easy about it in my neurons

 

As one limb with another doth kiss

My body manoeuvres Bharadvaja’s Twist

 

With Cobra, Locust, Cat and Child

muscles are burning, the pain runs wild

 

So it goes on with Warrior One

taut ham strings are starting to hum

 

Directed to Legs Up The Wall

when they scream simply to fall

 

Extended puppy isn’t a bit cute

I dare you to argue or refute

 

If I had my choice, I really suppose

I would opt for the warmth of Fire Log pose

 

Where really I simply am a Reclining Hero,

please let the clock wind down to zero

 

Even the sound of Lord Of The Dance

Maybe it would give me half a chance

 

Eventually she does dim the lights,

calm restored for end is in sight

 

Leave a Reply

