Lambs Do Lose Their Cute Factor

dsc00139

My husband phoned me at 10.30 one night when I was getting a ride home from a school function.  I asked him, “Where are you?”  “At home,” he replied.  “Then, why can I hear lambs baa-ing?”  This was clearly a stupid question on my part.

A pet lamb of yesteryear or more had given birth to twins and wasn’t showing an inkling of interest in them, so he had brought them home.  “Where do you think you are going to put them for the night?” I asked because this had to be sorted well and truly.  “In the lounge by the heater,” was what I expected him to say and he did.  “No way,” was my command.  I am way past empathy for orphaned lambs and the lounge room is way too close to my bedroom.

I could also hear what our eldest son would say when he learnt that there were two lambs at home: “Two more sheep that will never be sold!”

The mother of these abandoned twins had gained some notoriety in our community as it had been photographed and had appeared in our local newspaper.  We used to take it for evening walks.  We would head off around the block with Lambo on a lead, two dogs and my husband with an apple cider in hand and I with a glass of wine.

My husband brought home a lamb at the start of one lot of school holidays and stated, “You’re home for the next two weeks so you can feed her and then she goes back to the paddock.”  By the time Christmas was upon us, I stated in my totally fed up tone, “Either that lamb goes or I do!”

A couple of years ago we ended up with five lambs here.  I think it was that lambing season that did me in when it comes to looking after lambs.  I’m a gardener and that just doesn’t gel with lambs.  I think the CSRIO needs to do some research on what it is about rose leaves that lambs so enjoy.  Lily lamb, last year’s orphan, would strip a shrub of flowers and leaves and then move on to the next while I stood at the kitchen window seething.

The twin lambs stayed the night in our office.  My husband had put them in a box which I thought was extremely optimistic of him.  The next morning there was wee and pooh across most of the room.  I said nothing and went to off to work.  They were gone when I got home.

One thought on “Lambs Do Lose Their Cute Factor

  1. Oh Moira, the trials and tribulations of a wannabe (or not) sheep farmer. Yes, I’m sure they do lose their cute factor. One is more than enough for me I think. Thanks for the smiles this morning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

