Meat Bird

butcher

Red flesh between my hands

Under my finger nails,

In the pores of my skin,

 

It wafts up my nostrils,

alights unwittingly

on my upper lip

 

Red meat,

white fat,

carcass after carcass,

sawn in half,

cleaved from throat to tail

 

Coagulated blood,

red putty sticks to my fingers

Marrowbone jelly

exudes, drips, soils

all that it touches

 

saw, sort, stack

saw, sort, stack

saw, sort, stack

 

I saw,

I sought

and now I’m stacked

 

the meat bird

 

 

Leave a Reply

